Delivered: 1 year later

Seasons Change.

A year ago on a cold, wet, fall evening we received the news that our Son was going to have Down Syndrome. I was 22 weeks pregnant & 25 years old. It stormed that day, the leaves blew all over the road on the way home, flashes of what we thought our life was going to look like washed away and my tears left me a soggy mess.  I clung to my Faith, I cried, I held Mason tight, I rubbed my belly for hours in wonder and with anxiousness.

I don’t remember what life was like before that moment, what life was like before those two words, Down Syndrome. Thank the Good Lord! Looking back on it, I don’t really remember who I was before those two little words. Those two words that made me face so much that was within me, that brought me out of my comfort zone, that challenged me and became the catalyst to dive back into scripture and Pray. It was like God flipped the light switch on not off in my life.

And so our Journey began, months of anguish in waiting, months of education and information, beginning to blog, sharing with loved ones the news, people came into our lives and people went. Slowly a family was being built upon around us all the while shedding new light onto our life, an unexpected family, God given family.

And so I see in Gensis the first book of the Bible why God considered Shedding light the first priority when creating this world. Because without it we would be in darkness. As he shed light onto our life.

And God said, “Let there be light”; and there was light.  And God saw that the light was good; and God separated the light from the darkness.  Genesis 1:3-4

And so I see why God used the Analogy of “Seasons” in Ecclesiastes 3, because their is a time for everything in this life, and while that cold day a year ago may have played out to be a time to weep, Seasons change and time changed, and God Delivered me out of each season onto the next.

I wish sometimes in hindsight I would have trusted God with that Season just a bit more,  but I had to go through that storm of a horrid prentatal diagnosis delivery from the Doctor, the storm of the unknown, the storm of the word Abortion (applying to my own life) and the shorter season of grieving. But God never wanted me to stay there, he placed people and experiences into my life to see to it that I didn’t stay there. Then we Delivered Grady on 2/20/10… and all was made clear like a new spring day.  Joy.

1 year later. I am in a season of embracing. I praised HIM through the Storm, and will continue to do that with each Season. Forever grateful for that one extra chromosome and how it has shaped me, my family and all who love on Grady. Amazing how just one tiny chromosome can impact so many. The little boy, my son who is so much more than an extra chromosome, he is God’s Child.

Mark 4:37-41A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?”

He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.

He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!”

Trust in Him

A Time for Everything ::: There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain, a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace. Ecclesiastes 3:1-10