Slice of Heaven

I’m not a fan of comparing children with Down Syndrome to Angels. The word Angel to me is somewhat designated to those who walk directly alongside with God in the heavens, those who have entered the gates. As if using the word  “angel” we put one human above another, when in fact that is not the way God created us.  Being born into sin, even my child with Down Syndrome will be tempted, will sin, and will experience a full range of pain and emotions throughout his life.  Perhaps his demeanor and personality might be a bit more innocent but not angelic. To be honest, the comparison thing creeps me out.

But in the midst of this incredibly sin ridden/tough word. In the midst of pain, suffering and failure, God mercifully grants  us with moments where we can start to imagine just what a slice of Heaven will look like. I’m not sure we really have a clue, but for now these little things keep my spiritual engine revving. It is in the quiet moments with Grady, I am often granted and graced with such Hope. Hope in what I do not see. I am grateful and prayerful in all the same time when Grady looks deep into my eyes. A slice of heaven to me runs parallel to the idea of Hope.

Romans 8:24

For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what he already has? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.