What Binds us Together: Happy 150 days


My friend who I had lost touch with over the years… the one who devoured the sale racks at H&M with me in high school, who spent a long weekend in Cape May with me living up those summer nights … I was her wingman in soccer and she was mine. We shared a lot during the good ole days, but time and distance played its part on our friendhsip and years passed.

Here we were years later, ten to be exact…in the same town. One day Paul heard of my long lost friend’s unborn child’s heart defect, my heart dropped. I remember leaping out of the shower not even rinsed off…to scour facebook for her profile to message her and reach out. It seemed like the years that had passed us were erased, I wanted to reach out. I so very cared. I felt like I had been there before. I wanted to know if she was ok.  Details started pouring in, my heart ached for her aches … I’ll admit it… I wondered at one point… would her baby have Down Syndrome?

Bethany is a son of a Preacher Man, she is strong believer in Christ along with her husband, Eric. You should read their family’s story and Baby Livia’s Story here. I have to tell you it’s their story to tell, not mine. So you must click the link and then continue on this post. It is an incredible story of Hope, Faith and well …the Miracle of God. Click the link and read about Baby Livia.

Everyone knew Livia would have Trisomy 18 when we took Bethany’s maternity photos, everyone knew that it would be a miracle to see her born. It was a faithful, prayerful silence an unspoken anticipation. So when I captured this photo above, I choked up. I’m not going to lie, it is one of the most powerful photos I have ever had the honor of taking. Eric Adores Bethany and even more he is madly in love with his baby girl…before he ever met her, he was going to be her biggest fan and her protector.

Moving forward, we started meeting for coffee, we started making up for years that had passed, we took maternity photos {she was by far one of the most stunning pregnant woman I have ever captured}, Paul and I prayed for them, our small group prayed for them…all the while I realized how much I needed her friendship as much as I wanted to be there for her. Her fears were many of my own….I never wanted our get together’s to end. My deepest insecurities were so similar to hers. We were wingmen again but this time it was far more deeper than the simple days of beating our rival in soccer…it could come across as very serious these days when is essence to me it was beautiful.  It is beautiful. We are bonded by an extra chromosome. Livia’s on the 18th and Grady’s on the 21st.

Just the way God Planned.

Easy?…No.

But HE who has the Perfect plan carries us all if we LET him.

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Last week, Livia came to our house for her first visit to meet Grady….At one point they were making noises to each other a bit, and then Grady waved to her. I choked up big time, it was by far one of the sweetest moments. Beth and I looked at eachother, it was a moment of Joy. Moments we hang on to, counting our blessings. I adore that little girl, but Grady took very fondly to her… she definitely has an admirer.

Here are a few playdate photos…

 

Bethany is one of the most beautiful mother’s I have ever witnessed. Livia is so comfortable in her arms, it’s natural to see them together. It is one of the most beautiful sites to see.

I am blessed to be her friend.

Happy 150 days Sweet Livia. You are Loved. We Love You!

To read more about Trisomy 18 click HERE

10 thoughts on “What Binds us Together: Happy 150 days

  1. Erin says:

    I am so glad you did this post. I cried reading it. I have thought about them so many times over the last months. Such a beautiful family. Happy 150 days!

  2. Carrie says:

    I’m catching up on my blog reading..Grady is getting so big! What a little doll! And how amazing to have such a great friendship to help both of you along your journeys. God is good. 🙂

  3. abby mortenson says:

    Thanks for this. Bethany is my sister-in-law, and Livia, my niece (I finally got to meet her just last month, and it was such a gift). They are beautiful- and Eric’s love for them is awesome- just as you said. Thankful God has you near to them and has given you a voice to spread the word about their Holy story.

  4. Shauna says:

    Thanks for sharing Erin! I get so irritated when people say that T18 is always incompatible with life. There is a mommy here in our hospital whose baby is 6 weeks old with T18 and still fighting. I’m happy to be able to share such a beautiful story with her.

Leave a Reply

