The Missing {brother}


With a staggering 90% termination rate, you have to wonder about the {Missing}

A few months ago I received a comment on my post about the new 8 week blood test  to detect Down Syndrome.  The comment left my mind racing and in deep reflection. I have re- enacted it in my mind a million times, poured over the encounter and wondered how many other stories are out there just like this…. It is just too powerful not to share.

Take a moment and read this comment, soak it up and read it again. If the light bulb goes off… Let that light shine on and share this story.

{Side note: This is the comment from a woman I had met at Colombia while we were visiting for a doc appt for Grady. Her son, Jakob was born with Down Syndrome on 2/20/00 exactly ten years to the day before Grady. Incredible Small world.}

“I just read your blog and I felt I should tell what we experienced when staying at a ranch in TX for a couple of days this spring. We met a family from England and the father connected to our son Jakob right away. They just had the best time ever – on the train, in the pool, at supper, playing table tennis and just laughing and chatting. It was the cutest thing! Best buddies! Everyone at the ranch just loved seeing and hearing them having such a wonderful time! Just before they left for the airport Jakob got a big, big hug AND the father´s favorite cap: England´s Rugby Team with the Red Rose. He said: – You are the brother I never had! And I love you! See you again soon!

Think about it…”

The impact of abortion does not end with a mother’s personal decision, the impact is intense, emotional and bleeds through to the siblings. A truth that most don’t ever hear, a new perspective of the forgotten victims of abortion. Brothers & Sisters.  Void.

Take the Man above who embraced Jakob with both Love and Laughter, as if he was making up for years of lost time… I think with almost certainty we can say that he would have been a fabulous brother to a sibling with Down Syndrome if given the chance. IF.

And just why I can’t get this (amazing) comment out of my mind? perhaps it is the statement ” I love you ” that the man proclaimed to young Jakob before leaving to go back to England.  I see it all playing out in my head like an old movie, slow motion, picture perfect. Three little words that have everything to do with three extra chromosomes. I Love You.

{think about it…}

I have such a heavy heart for women with a prenatal diagnosis (like the one I had), I can only hope and pray tonight that this comment shared will be a light onto a big decision. I wish more people in the world knew the deep immense love that radiates off Grady and even more importantly the Love his brother has for him.

He is his brother’s keeper.

14 thoughts on “The Missing {brother}

  1. Theresa Bonopartis says:

    It is true there are over 53 million missing brothers and sisters, both those aborted because of ad verse diagnosis and all abortions.

    At Lumina/Hope & Healing after Abortion we hold retreat days for adult siblings. Our next one is on March 10, 1012. we also have retreat days for parents who aborted because of an adverse diagnosis.
    http://www.postabortionhelp.org/sibling/sibling.html
    http://www.postabortionhelp.org/pre-natal/preNatal.html

  2. sarah says:

    What an amazingly small world it really is. I love this post. Mason is so lucky to have parents like you, and a brother like Grady, that he will get to love. Forever.

  3. Brenda says:

    Love! What a beautiful post. I know that my girls are blessed to have one another to walk this life together. Loved the pictures – Mason and Grady are just so precious. 🙂

  4. Anne says:

    What a beautiful post. I had found out @ 20 wks pregnant that my son had a rare cyst on the outside of his brain(Arachnoid Cyst). I never once thought about abortion.

  5. letters2daniel says:

    Oh Erin, I love this post! I can’t wait for Daniel to be a big brother because I know he will be the best. I just want you to know following your blog saved me after I got my prenatal diagnosis. Seeing you guys together and seeing how perfect Grady fits into your family made me see things would be fine. Hope all is well, love you guys!

  6. Debbie says:

    Such a sweet story! I love the bond siblings have, but knowing that Lizzie is already Josh’s biggest fan is the sweetest thing I have ever witnessed. By the way, so crazy that you put the quote from the song on the picture of your family…we had our iTunes going and it had just finished playing when I read this post! 🙂

  7. Megan Meier says:

    Thank you for sharing that comment and your thoughts. It brought tears to my eyes and touched my heart. I am one that loves these precious spirits and know the love and lessons they bring to a family. I pray everyone sees your blog entry and keeps it in their heart.

Leave a Reply

