Impeccable Timing in NYC : God Wink


“Life is a series of relationships that when connected at the right time and place weave themselves into a Glorious web of God’s intent.”

{I wrote this for my Contact Me page when I started this blog}

The story of Peter & John in the book of Acts 3: 1-11 reaching down to the lame beggar who lay on the streets outside the temple was recently shared at our Church this past sunday. The Sermon moved me beyond words as tears streamed from my cheeks. It rocked my soul because for me it wasn’t about the actual physical healing of the Man, no it was much more than that. It was for me but a shining example of when God uses others {his disciples} to be his hands and feet & to lift each other up.  Reading forward to  the moments after the Lame Beggar rose up and walked for the first time , he was filled with amazement, renewal, and leaping happiness. Whether it was the moments after accepting Christ in college when the same sense of elation flowed through my blood, or this week when God himself reached down through someone else to comfort me and raise me up with impeccable timing. God is always with us, it’s just a matter of recognizing Him and reaching back and grabbing on.

But Peter said, “I have no silver and gold, but what I do have I give to you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk!” And he took him by the right hand and raised him up, and immediately his feet and ankles were made strong. And leaping up he stood and began to walk, and entered the temple with them, walking and leaping and praising God. Acts 3: 1-11

Let me start this by saying, when I left the Dr’s office on monday, I wanted to cry…or scream. I pushed Grady’s stroller as fast as I could as if I was being chased towards the hospital doors by invisible doctor’s. I couldn’t even relish in the fact that we were in and out in record time for visits at under 1 hour {meaning a lower parking fee, you know $18 for an hr, woohoo}

Rewind.

My day had started off by being lectured/yelled out in appropriate NY fashion and tone by a toll booth attendant who is so sure I was texting and driving (I wasn’t) As if my nerves weren’t already jumbled, she just threw a little heat to the mix. Missing every opportunity to make the turn to get my Dunkin Donuts. 15 Minutes before appt time, with immense traffic outside the GWB, I was nicely selected by a Fort Lee Police officer (who was standing in the middle of the road) to pull off into a parking lot along with five other cars. My first reaction, they must be looking for terrorists or guns. In superb NJ fashion, before telling me what I did wrong, taking my driver’s license and ignoring my plee that I was going to be late for an important date the officer walked away from me in mid sentence… 10 minutes later I was handed a ticket for riding the shoulder. {long story, but I didn’t do anything wrong and No I won’t help fill your Quota.}

Fast Forward till we were 20 minute late for our appt …. well you all heard about that on Monday, the appt was marked with words like, feeding tube, bolis, surgery, thrive, tiny, gaunt.

After leaving the doors of the hospital, I fiddled with my cell phone trying to avoid eye contact with any bystanders, holding back tears, fighting the frustration all the while waiting for my Car to arrive. I wanted to essentially disappear…..

When a young girl about my age and her mother started talking about the young child entering the taxi without a car seat in front of us. I thought this conversation would be a perfect escape from my misery. I jumped out of disappering mode into know it all mode. Shortly after our conversation started, the young girl {Emily} mentioned she liked my hair followed by the statement that she was losing hers.

My heart dropped. to. the. floor.

Over the next 5-7 minutes I learned more about Emily and her Inoperable Brain tumor along with the Chemo and Radiation she was undergoing. Her graceful and cheery demeanor far out shined what could potentially be a dark conversation. Her openness and vulnerability to share her story and faith humbled me on a dime. She told me that “she is chosing to live with with a brain tumor, not die from a brain tumor” followed with a small smirk as she lowered her head. I felt a connection with them that I just can not explain in words. It was like we were meant to meet at that moment, fate.

Emily is beyond beautiful inside and out and at 25 years old, her courage and outlook became an instant blessing onto my day. At one point in our conversation her Mom turned to me and  shared their “one day at a time” motto with me along with how we can be delivered from those bad days, the days where we want to crawl in bed and cry and scream.  Somewhere in the conversation I mentioned Grady had Down Syndrome but no reference to our visit or my day so her words spoke to me. Deeply.

Never once did I think, Oh poor Emily, or Gosh it could be worse for me and G$ here. No all I thought was wow… “God give me an ounce of what she has” … I thought of the impeccable timing and how God was all over this… It could of been Hairy Joe Gigglio standing next to me but No, it was Emily and her mom. Finally what a blessed perspective I had gained in just 5-7 minutes that one encounter was not going to be enough. My thoughts ran wild while my emotions were calmed.

I was renewed in strength to pick my sulking but up and as Emily would say in her blog “Keep Calm and Carry On”

Forget the missed DD coffee Fix, Forget the toll booth attendant & dsigruntled Police Officer and his silly ticket. This weight loss and potential tube issue we are having would not defeat me.

Today we met up again with Emily and her Mom before she went into her daily treatment and our Endo appt. Again, it was a wonderful time but this time it felt as if we had known each other for a very long time. Emily gave Grady the blanket featured in all of these photos today. It was actually made for her by Middle School students from NJ to support her treatment….and she selflessly thought it would be a perfect size and gift for Grady. Well she was right, because floating around those butterflies is a blue and gold one {The Down Syndrome Awareness Buttefly logo is the same colors} and of course a forever symbol of our new friend!

If you would like to follow Emily’s journey you can do so through her Caringbridge site or her personal blog! Oh… and Emily will be walking with TEAM SKI through central park this September! Keep our new friend Emily in your prayers, cover her with prayer along with her family.

I thank God for Emily and Alice tonight.

11 thoughts on “Impeccable Timing in NYC : God Wink

  1. Lindsey says:

    Wow. Just wow. lifting all of you up tonight. Wow.
    *the pic of G’s hand on the butterfly, I love.
    *your {new} blog header, I double love.
    Love & prayers to you all.

  2. Heather says:

    I feel the same way about Grady as you did with Emily. I never thought, “oh that poor baby, and his poor mother”. From the moment we first started speaking you had and continue to exude Godly peace. God is amazing beyond words how he can take every wrong thing and make it right in an instant. You are such a great Mom! Your boys are lucky to have you! 🙂

  3. Anna Theurer says:

    Erin, like always, a beautiful and insightful post. Emily is truly inspiring and clearly the good Lord put you all in each others’ paths for a purpose. What a hectic beginning to an already stressful day with a scary doctor’s appt and yet, you got past it and saw the fabulousness of Emily and Alice. Prayers for their family as well as yours. Love the new blog header too!

  4. Cathy says:

    Ah Erin…what a beautiful post. I’m thankful God gave you just what you needed. And Emily…God bless you. I’m going to stop by your blog and say hi.

  5. Kimberley Adams says:

    What a wonderful story, isn’t amazing how we are brought into so many others lives by our children and circumstance. Thanks for sharing….and please give the boys a hug from Matthew, Judy and I.

  6. jodi says:

    Love it….. I can’t wait to meet Emily and Alice in September. You always bring me to tears…lol I guess thats what friends are for…xoxoxo love love the new header pic…. Love the pics of Grady…. ps THANK YOU for being you…..now i have to call you and check up in on my Gman…

Leave a Reply

