more than the hunt…


I have so many stories to tell you, so many reasons and rooted meanings behind some of the photos I take. Many that I am unable to share, but I always share what I can. When I snap a photo sometimes my mind races with descriptions, truth, reality, generational reflections, stories and history. {side note: none of which have anything to do with Sarah Palin }

Maybe I have said this about a million times now..but seeing my husband with our children, embracing such a tradition as the outdoors and the discipline and art of hunting… tugs on my heart.  It is that time of year again, and the husband has turkey on his mind…. and so does Mason.

Paul spending time with Mason {and eventually Grady} has much more to do with relationship, respect and tradition and less to do with killing things. Mind you we do eat what we kill, but hunting is an art form. An art form my husband takes very seriously with incredible passion. That is evident through the time he spends sharing the outdoors with both his children and me.

We can only hope through our shortcomings in parenthood, when we absolutley don’t know what the heck we are doing, that sharing nature with our children will become an outlet where they see divine order as God intended and they hear Peace in the midst of the  Chaos of the world. A tradition to run home to. A retreat to where their heart can find contentment. Respect.

“And that is why I come.
And why I linger here still, letting the old bull get away. My hunt you see, actually has little to do with elk. I knew that before I came. There is something else I am after, out here in the wild. I am searching for an even more elusive prey….something that only can be found through the help of the wilderness. I am looking for my heart.”

Excerpt from “Wild at Heart” by John Eldridge

“Capes and swords, camouflage, bandanas, and six-shooters-these are the uniforms of boyhood”

John Eldridge







You see things; and you say, ‘Why?’ But I dream things that never were; and I say, “Why not?”
George Bernard Shaw

“There comes that mysterious meeting in life when someone acknowledges who we are and what we can be, igniting the circuits of our highest potential.”

Rusty Berkus


9 thoughts on “more than the hunt…

  1. Courtney B says:

    Love the family traditions, the love, the bonds being made and the memories that will never fade. xoxo
    You and Paul are doing a great job with your little men.

  2. Andi says:

    Hunting IS an art form. Sarah Kate loved hunting with her daddy when she was younger (now they fish, since we’re on the coast these days), and as soon as Nathan is able to walk, he will go with Daddy, too.

Leave a Reply

