Big Hooray’s…


Yes…. on Easter Evening this happened for the first time: at 14 months and 4 days Grady posted on all fours all by himself, and yes TEARS burst through my eyes. I wish for a moment you could know how this feels, or maybe you do and you can just bask in the joy we feel. We have been working on this and waiting on him to pull his legs underneath himself with patience….. He was so proud of himself, and he started to rock back and forth, with the biggest smile in the world.

I took this photo today a few days later, photographic proof of his HUGE Milestone! Goooo Grady!


Paul and I never went on a honeymoon since he was in the police academy when we married, but this week we are leaving the kids for the first time for three nights to attend one of my best friends wedding in Orlando. I will have the honor to read scripture at her ceremony.

1.) I have never left Grady for more than a few hours (ahhhhhh) 2.) I weaned him onto a bottle so we could take this trip, I will be pumping away in Florida 3.) I have never been to Disney 4.) I haven’t had a night with just Paul in 4 years (woop woop) 5.) I am going to miss them terribly. OY!

Be home soon little ones. I love you!!! (Big thanks to everyone who is making this happen for us!)

14 thoughts on “Big Hooray’s…

  1. Tracy says:

    Yes, I know the joy this simple little milestone brings! For me it was a different skill one sleepy morning when baby Jack spied his brother’s Woody doll lying in a heap on the floor. Our Middle has always let Jack play with his beloved Woody doll. Jack army crawled/dragged himself over to the doll and grabbed it…and sat straight up with it! It wasn’t more than a few heartbeats before he toppled right over sideways with his treasure, and it was MONTHS before he’d do it again without support, but that amazingly proud grin he wore (I’m not sure if it was from getting the doll or sitting up!) and my own little gift of being able to see it happen, is still warm in my heart. We’d been working on sitting up for months – you know! – and suddenly, here he was doing it on his own! Erin, I so enjoy your blog, and it seems so rarely that I have time to stop by. I especially love the pictures of your boys…Grady’s chubby thighs are THE BEST! God bless!

  2. Anna Theurer says:

    Yay Grady!!!! What a little superstar 🙂 Of course tears sprang to your eyes. I used to lack patience (well, I still do in some ways). Because of Ellie, I have learned the joy of taking things slow, enjoying every moment and practicing patience. Enjoy your hubby alone time and Disney. I have never been either but I know it will be wonderful 🙂

  3. aprilnarretto says:

    first of all …GO Gman You rock!! I know what you mean, dont you wish everyone could enjoy the happiness oh how this world could be such a happier, simple place if everyone just knew(hope that made sense)
    It is hard leaving little ones, at least it was for me the first time and still is when we get away but it is nice to reconnect and have time alone with your spouse. Have a great time and those little ones will be in your arms soon. Your boys are getting so big. Seems like I just started following you but time tells me its been sometime 🙂
    Have a great trip

  4. Megan Gentile says:

    Have an amazing time you two! Me and Ant honeymooned in Disney and it is definitely my favorite place on earth! You will be dying to go back with the boys! Enjoy your alone time! xoxo

  5. Nori Coleman says:

    Just found your blog today while doing a search. I gave birth to my precious Malcolm who has Down Syndrome on April 8,2011. He is now 2 1/2 weeks old. You have a great story and wonderful faith.

  6. Shauna says:

    Yay Grady! I can’t wait for that pleasure myself. Everything is just so much sweeter. Can I just say (again I think) that Grady is THE cutest little boy EVER! Have fun on your trip…you’ll love disney.

  7. jodi says:

    Yay….I am so proud…..ohh boy I hope you guys are ready…he looks like he is going to be a speed demon……..once he gets going he’s not going to want to stop.. I hope you and Paul had the time of your lives….

  8. Ilisa Ailts says:

    Woo-hoo Grady! So happy and I will be feeling that too when Calvin finally gets there. I think it will be awhile, but it’s helpful to see your little sweetheart get there!

  9. Jan says:

    I celebrate with you!! I am transported back to when my Caleb first crawled…army style across the living room floor. God is sooooooooooo Good!

  10. Cassie says:

    OMG this is awesome!!! Awesome job Grady! I am so happy for you guys!. We are working on sitting up and it is soooo hard for me to be patient but I know it will happen in the right timing for Audri…Your family is beautiful! Have fun in Florida!

Leave a Reply

