Forever my Home: NEW VIDEO


As promised in my Nature Therapy Post….

A few things before you watch this video… A little less than a year ago, we went back to the place I grew up,  just about 20 miles from where we currently reside. I have kept in touch with the owner who bought it from my parents for many reasons. First, I never wanted to let go of that place…it was a magical place to grow up. It is where I first aspired to be an entomologist,  stayed outside till we heard the bell and where every one of my childhood memories reside. We moved right before I got to middle school when my parents had the opportunity to build their dream house on our old family farmland. Cahoonzie Club is a private hunting club sprawled out on over a thousand acres, where you can find three lakes a few hunting cabins and residential houses. I hold such a strong emotional and spiritual attachment to this house and the land, I find it hard to express through writing. (Hence forth the video)

The second reason I have kept in touch with the current owner is that it has been one of my dreams to buy that house back someday, and raise my children there. It would be epic to say the least. To think of Mason, Grady and our future children running those roads in the epitome of nature’s wonderland would be one of my greatest wishes. To have fellowship on the lake and to share the nature experience with others would be a dream….

You see, the owner is considering selling…while we don’t have the finances, if it’s God’s will he will provide a way.

It took forever to make this video and upload it (about a year, eek). The video clips between are from my childhood mixed with footage from our last trip up there. Enjoy!

 

.

.

PSSSSTTTT…. VOTE everyday for GRADY and our BLOG till April 14th!  This way we can reach a broader audience for the advocacy of Down Syndrome and Jesus. <—-click that sentence, it takes two seconds and is hassle free! Thank you!!

9 thoughts on “Forever my Home: NEW VIDEO

  1. Marianne says:

    I watched this video with a smile on my face and a tear in my eye. This is so moving. I loved seeing the old footage of you and your family. Thank you for sharing your beautiful memories. I would love to see your dream of moving back a reality.

  2. Erin says:

    That is the COOLEST video Erin! I love that song. I’ve been having all these funny dreams lately about my parents buying the house I grew up in back. I hope you get to live in yours again someday!

  3. Shauna says:

    Can I come visit? Please….so beautiful! The only videos of you reminded me of myself growing up (can tell we about the same age by the hairstyles too). I hope you do get your dream, but its great you can go visit no matter what happens.

    • Erin Ski! says:

      Yes of course you can come visit, this little ole hunting club wouldn’t know what hit them, we would be hosting all sorts of Down Syndrome functions it would be grand… oh sweet dreaming!

  4. Megan Gentile says:

    I cried through the entire video! It is so touching to see the memories and relive some of them myself. I will never forget spending summers in that lake, catching millipedes in jars, and waking up to your mother’s German pancakes. Your house was the coolest, the only house I knew that had a built in fort! Thanks for sharing such a touching video! I love you girl! xoxo

    • Erin Ski! says:

      Yay!!!! I know Megan we had such a nice time growing up together there…. remember throwing the sticks down in the road, to get someone attention?? hahah and yes my pet millepede!! hahahah LOVE IT!! miss you too!

Leave a Reply

