Oh the Places you Take us…


He really does take us places. Not only the sweet physical places we have never seen before, but within our heart he leads the navigation to uncharted territories.

The places I can photograph are always joyful, like our time between appointments this past Monday. We had a few hours to roam Bear Mountain State Park and the surrounding area.  Wouldn’t you know without Grady, I would probably be in my pajamas scrubbing the never ending pile of dishes with my motivational apron on, but instead we were on an adventure. The recent onslaught of appointments have kept us quite busy… but we have still been making time for adventure. Besides Grady’s smile and contagious affection for life, adventure keeps my wheels turning lately.

It isn’t just the physical places Grady has brought me to recently. His existence in this world has broken through all sorts of chambers in my heart and soul, the deep and unexplored.  The places that some most likely fear and the same places that I unfortunately assume the threads of abortion are first woven. With my faith and trust in Jesus I don’t fear these uncharted places yet my voyage is still strangely unfamiliar. That secret place in our heart that I am talking about has the ability to produce a full spectrum of emotions and somehow all the while makes us stare into our own existence in spiritual reflection.  Grady is not only a Gift from God but for me  a reminder of who is Really in control here. and Who I really want/desire to see in that reflection.

This might sound odd, but he sometimes can be my external consciousness or Ticker Checker.  With just a glance, on any given day, he can soften my weary and “hardened by the world” heart. In that moment of reflection, I am quickly reminded again of my longing for Jesus. I am broken with out him.

Proverbs 16:9

The heart of man plans his way,

but the LORD establishes his steps.

No doubt Grady was placed in my life to be a navigational beacon in my journey of Faith.

I welcome any adventure he brings to our life, physically or spiritually. As long as it points back to the One who created him… it’s all good!

3 thoughts on “Oh the Places you Take us…

  1. Scott says:

    So honest, and so well written. The pictures are wonderful too. And snow on the ground! Where I was at today it reached 99! Slightly warmer than you…

  2. Kim says:

    Thanks for stopping by our blog. Of course I had to stop by yours. What a sweet little boy you have! And to have a big brother, too. I know you are one busy mama with a crew like that. What a blessing, though.

    I love the name of your blog, too. The pictures. I am a coastal girl now, but grew up near Lake Tahoe and if I had my way I would still be skiing through life. Cross country skiing, that is. But, no snow here. It is beautiful in it’s own way, and I find myself praying that God will help me to feel at home here in the same way I did in the mountains growing up. There is just nothing quite like it though.

    I look forward to reading more about life with Grady and Mason. And more of your beautiful pictures.

Leave a Reply

