Mamma-lisa to Momologist.


I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.

E.B White

I laughed, then read the quote again while in a coffee shop last week with my mom. It was on the ceiling and there I stood with my neck twisted up to read it yet again.  That is it… that quote is me and it pretty much explains the piles of laundry, too many photos of my children to sort through and my commitment to Jesus and this blog. (and a whole mess of other things I have going on in my life)

I am exhausted, and I don’t say that to complain, but I am being honest. I fear that I have been bent towards complaining or talking too much about all the medical issues Grady has going on right now in conversation.  I think back to conversations with friends this last week, and I hear myself talking a lot more than listening.  I need to turn to the Father Upstairs more obediently. I don’t want it to turn into a pity party, nor do I want it to shine some undesirable light onto Grady’s genetic makeup. Most everything we are dealing with can be found in typical children as well.   I will say I am out of my Mamma-lisa (im an artist, nonchalant, cough cough lazy, go with the flow baby, nap time anyone, snap flash) comfort zone.  Grady seems to be piling up the -ologists this month. This is new territory for me and makes the qoute above hard to abide by in the sense of my desired normal. The world of medications and routine are making me dig deep for my inner momologist to come out.

I am grateful and thankful for everything that Grady is. How he smiled the whole time through his tummy ultrasound today (while the tech was nervous she would traumatize him) I assured her no such thing would happen with our Grady Man… he was content….and when the barium was all over his hair after his swallow study today his eyes still shined with adoration for his mamma despite the circumstances. He takes trucking around NYC in style when going to his appt’s all the while gracing everyone with his pleasent demeanor.

I can do all things through Christ that strengthens me.  Philippians 4:13

~audiologist, endocrinologist, pulmonologist, gastroenterologist, optamologist, urologist.~

I can handle all these reflux/gastro meds, I got this.

I can give him the inhaler for asthma, I got this.

I can administer the thyroid meds, I got this.

I can be obedient with putting on his glasses, I got this.

I can wean him onto a bottle, I got this.

 

I am a

Momologist

(who likes to nap still)

12 thoughts on “Mamma-lisa to Momologist.

  1. nannytoteach says:

    You know you are all beyond gorgeous and strong. Any child can have these medical issues and you are dealing with them the best any mother can. I pray for quick healing, and quick answers for all of you. I cannot wait to see pictures of Grady in his glasses!

  2. Lara Font says:

    love Momologist! I am going to adopt the name…we CAN do this with Christ, I’m right there with you, so know you aren’t traveling alone!!! I LOVE naps too, can’t get them often enough, but they have an amazing way of helping make it all seem okay when we are weak! Hang in there my friend!!

  3. Becky McClure says:

    Another verse to add to Phil 4:13
    He will feed His flock like a shepherd; He will gather the lambs . . . and carry them in His bosom, and gently lead those who are with young. Isa.40:11

    May the Good Shepherd bless you, His little lamb as you care for yours.

  4. annie says:

    Oh I so relate to this post! I feel like we are at the doctor all of the time. By the time it’s all said and done Momologist will be my role as well! Love the pics of the boys in their ties…they are so cute I want to eat them up!

  5. Jennifer says:

    I hear you, Erin! The number of -ologists can really be overwhelming. I also try to take my cues from my littlest guy, who also seems to manage the most tolerant demeanor. My little guy decided to completely wean himself a few days ago, and even though I was ready for him to be done at a year (and we’re only 3 weeks from that), I was not really ready. sniff sniff. So, even when I think I want something, sometimes I’m surprised about my feelings over it! Ay ay ay!

  6. Erin says:

    I love this post Erin! Made me laugh and cry. It all gets a little overwhelming sometimes but such is life. And for the record, I LOVE naps too, wish my children did 😉

Leave a Reply

