About a Waterfall


I went to go see about a waterfall yesterday with my boys.

We received some  heartbreaking news within my family the night before we went… the word Cancer has the remarkable power to shake one’s soul.

After over 17 years of remission my Grandmother is faced with it again.

I told Paul, I needed nature, prayer and to just be still.

I wanted to hear the sweet song of rushing water pounding the rocks, I wanted the sun to dance off my eye lids as I prayed and after this long winter I wanted to just BE with nature, I wanted to Breathe and give thanks.

Shortly after some sweet time at the waterfall we stumbled upon a rarity in the north east on back roads. Divine Signage.  There GOD goes again giving me a wink. Placing that broken down tree with some poignant scriptures to speak to my soul. It was kind of like a high five from Jesus reminding me he is all over this situation and season.

Psalm 42

As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, my God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
When can I go and meet with God?
My tears have been my food
day and night,
while people say to me all day long,
“Where is your God?”
These things I remember
as I pour out my soul:
how I used to go to the house of God
under the protection of the Mighty One
with shouts of joy and praise
among the festive throng.

Why, my soul, are you downcast?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.

My soul is downcast within me;
therefore I will remember you
from the land of the Jordan,
the heights of Hermon—from Mount Mizar.
Deep calls to deep
in the roar of your waterfalls;
all your waves and breakers
have swept over me.

By day the LORD directs his love,
at night his song is with me—
a prayer to the God of my life.

We had an extraordinary day outside fishing and being together. I will post photos either later tonight or tomorrow!!

These were just a preview. God is Good.

5 thoughts on “About a Waterfall

  1. Tara says:

    Oh, Erin. I just love it when you share your God winks with us! That made me tear up. God knows whats ahead and He will prepare you for it. Blessings to you, my friend.

  2. Ilisa Ailts says:

    Yes, God is in control and that is such a relief isn’t it? It doesn’t take away all feelings you have about this, but it does help you just BE, as you say 🙂 Looking fwd to pics 🙂

  3. Ilisa Ailts says:

    Oh, hey, have you ever considered doing a photo tutorial? I’d love one! You have uniqueness in yours and I’m still learning. Thanks for considering it.

    • Erin Ski! says:

      Ilisa- I wish I knew correct terminology for my “skills” I am all self taught through reading books and taking a million photos to get it right 😉 Always a work in progress! If you need some pointers I would be oh so happy to give you some!!! Thanks for the encouragement:) My best tip is (Turn OFF the flash) I tell that to everyone! xo

Leave a Reply

