I carry a concealed weapon. True Story.


Some people call it “packin’ heat”,  “loaded” or “going heavy”.

Ok, I should probably take the concealed part out of my title. For the most part not much is concealed about my weapon, and I’m ok being honest about that. With my honesty comes regret, shame, prayer and the constant pursuit of sanctification.

We can just break it down to my favorite slang for using my weapon:

Speaking; also known as to talk; to communicate; therefore and often using the tongue, but not limited to any virtual/technologically preferred method of communication.

Today is March, 2nd, 2011, also known as the day to  SPREAD THE WORD TO END THE WORD. Yes, this post is about that word, the word I can almost lay a bet down that you have said. Heck, I have used it in the past. I won’t put myself on some high advocacy horse without admitting my own failures in this misuse of the word.  That word is:: Retarded. I think being vigilant to such a word is just skimming the pot. I think it is so much more than just the word. It is who we are as a culture, how we are going to let our words define those around us, and how we raise our children.

I can tell you today, as I sit here and type, the word “retarded”  just doesn’t work. The word (once used medically to describe individuals with certain mental disabilities) has become a culturally acceptable term used to hurt people’s feelings, fired off as derogatory slander, or a descriptive filler word used because we can think of nothing more intelligent to say. We must pursue something better for our language, for the protection and respect of individuals who can’t speak eloquently for themselves, we must be the change.

When reading, Proverbs 10:19 it says ” Sin is not ended by multiplying words, but the prudent hold their tongues.”. If when challenged by another, caught off guard and tempted to spew such a word, when our blood boils and descriptive words seems necessary, perhaps not saying anything at all would bring the greatest Glory to God and Respect for those who deserve it.

I want my carrying permit signed off by the Almighty, Our Father in Heaven.

The Tongue is the mightiest weapon of all. The Tongue can kill quicker than a Gun.

“The tongue has the power of life and death,

and those who love it will eat its fruit.” Proverbs 18:21

One of my favorite convicting passages regarding our Tongue:

James 3:1-11 :: Taming the Tongue

Not many of you should become teachers, my fellow believers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly. We all stumble in many ways. Anyone who is never at fault in what they say is perfect, able to keep their whole body in check.When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal.  Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go. Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole body, sets the whole course of one’s life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.

All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and sea creatures are being tamed and have been tamed by mankind,  but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring?

Before using the word Retard, or Retarded  or if you have just said it and you’ve caught yourself, close your eyes and picture a tear running down Grady’s face. Picture me explaining to Mason why someone just called his brother that, Picture your tongue as a dagger piercing the heart of a mother with special needs.  We all “pack heat” but now it’s time register your weapon with the LORD.

Can we be the change?

Can we conceal our weapons for the Glory of God?

8 thoughts on “I carry a concealed weapon. True Story.

  1. Christie says:

    I have tears!!! I am like some crazy hormonal pregnant chic right now 🙂 Such a great post, Erin. Hold your head high, you are a daughter of The Most High! I love ya!! Mason and Grady are so blessed to have you.

  2. Robin White says:

    I have been fighting the use of this word for a long time…as calmly as I can, one person at a time. While I believe there will always be those who use derogatory slang to deliberately do harm, the best I can do is to gently educate those who simply don’t know better.

    You go, girl!

Leave a Reply

