Power Photos Reflection & Grady’s Grocery Challenge


All of a sudden as I stopped worrying about their faces and the forced photo and  looked down. BAM.  The Photo I have been wanting for a long time now, a photo of my Grandmother and Grady holding hands. It means the world to me. If you have followed my blog you would understand.  I love full circles. I think this photo is one of them. God is good.

I had just gotten back from a photo shoot when I was scanning through my photos on my camera while my Mom and Mason played Kitchen.  It was with impeccable timing that I caught this photo on the whim, Mason saying prayers over Play Pizza with his Oma. Moments like these make me want to glue a camera to my side but  mostly moments like these make me so grateful that Mason knows he can talk to Jesus even over plastic food, because HE is listening.

I have this thing about Grocery stores up North. (Just thought I would get that out there to begin with) This past week I brought Grady out food shopping and for the first time was able to sit him in the front. This means he wasn’t in his car-seat tucked away with the bananas and bread nor was he in my wrap snoozing on my chest. Nope, Grady man was sitting tall, bright eyed and ready to take it all in.  The weird part about it is, although I keep a very public blog and bring him everywhere with me, having him “upright and exposed” shall you say at the Grocery store left me actually feeling rather vulnerable. While I don’t totally understand these feelings, I can guess that it stems from my rather overall negative experience in Northern Food Stores. People are just grumpy, often rude, snappy, pushy, hurried and every once in a while I run into someone in this small town that makes me want to dive between the cereal boxes and morph into the Leprechaun on the Lucky Charms Box. Oh, so back to the vulnerable part… I pushed through it, and was absolutely proud of my Grady and his tolerance to sit the whole time. He smiled at everyone and gave the grumpsters a taste of Grady Love.

I want to challenge all my Northern Readers to do ONE  “out of the ordinary” act of kindness while food shopping this week, say hello to your cashier, help a stranger out in any way, even if it’s shaking your tail feather to Bette Midler music in Isle Nine, spread some Joy in a place I find to be most lacking 🙂

I used to use my negative food shopping experiences as a reason to head back South, but I have re-adjusted that and thought perhaps the answer is not running away but spreading a little sweet suga’ on my fellow shoppers & and now I have Grady as the perfect Side-kick.

Food for thought:

Acts 20:35

In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ ”

6 thoughts on “Power Photos Reflection & Grady’s Grocery Challenge

  1. Aunt Jess says:

    I LOVE the idea of this challenge! I am not sure it will be the same if I participate though, since I do live in the south in all its hospitable glory 🙂 Smiling at strangers is the norm and I gladly do this every day! Good job working those core muscles Grady man! I love you Ski family XOXO

  2. Ilisa Ailts says:

    Nice post and I get the exposed feeling. Here you can back with words and thoughts, out there it’s free game to judgement. He is so cute with his wild hair!

  3. Gracie says:

    Erin, I just love your blog! Thank you for sharing your your thoughts, feelings and expierences with us that can’t express ourselves yet in these certain uncomfortable situations. You have helped me not feel so alone in this wonderful journey with my little Aiden. Grady is soo sweet.

  4. Melissa says:

    I love this challenge. For some reason grocery shopping, one of those chores that everyone must do, seems to put a lot of people in a bad mood. I try to be patient with the lines, the cashiers, but the next time I’m shopping I’ll think of your challege and of Grady.

Leave a Reply

