And he shall be your helper.


No scripture has spoken more clear to me in this particular journey,

humbled me

or assuredly affirmed

my faith as much as the Exodus 4 Scripture  below.

In the moments of doubt that ever entered my mind,

when the world says that this child is a mistake and when the

world can’t understand why God would allow disabilities. It is then

I open to scripture and let the Word of our God speak to my soul.

I can’t see fit to use my own words, they are not enough. I can’t see fit

to argue with representation beyond this. It is relative today. (Romans 15:4)

_________________________________

So Mighty a Man… with a Mighty Purpose…..anointed by God Himself….

but wait, read on…

Unable to speak due to a disability? Moses?… YES.

So God Appointed, Aaron (his brother) to be his helper, to speak for him.


Exodus 4:10-16

Moses said to the LORD, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”

The LORD said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the LORD?  Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

But Moses said, “Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.”

Then the LORD’s anger burned against Moses and he said, “What about your brother, Aaron the Levite? I know he can speak well. He is already on his way to meet you, and he will be glad to see you.  You shall speak to him and put words in his mouth; I will help both of you speak and will teach you what to do. He will speak to the people for you, and it will be as if he were your mouth and as if you were God to him.

God softly whispers to me through this… rest assured my daughter, I will send helpers,

I will provide a way, I know what I was doing when I made him, be at peace, trust in me, Grady is mine.

Mason signing "EAT" before giving Grady his Spoonful.

I’ve heard this said a time or two, regarding siblings of special needs children, that they are more compassionate and well rounded adults. I’ll take that assumption for now.

On the other side,

I have also heard the guilt/fear parents feel of the possible “burden” a special needs child could potentially be on their typical child, therefore falsifying truth or reasoning fuel for

abortion.

Heart breaking. Lies.

I get it, I am new to this journey of special needs siblings, what could I possibly know? I know today is beautiful. Today Mason signed “More” and “Eat” to Grady. Today Mason and Grady giggled.

Today Mason had another chance to love his brother. Today was wonderful.

We want to raise Mason up trust God’s Plan so at the end of the day, it is not what the world has called a “burden” but that it is a brotherly bonded, God Appointed, Love… Natural, True and Easy.

I trust God knew what he was doing in putting our children together in the same family.

So far, to me it seems he got it just right.

 

"You step one foot closer to my brother and .....this rubber band is gonna sting yer leg!"

The family.  We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together. ~Erma Bombeck

As Aaron was to Moses, I pray Mason will be to Grady.

10 thoughts on “And he shall be your helper.

  1. Erin says:

    Just wait until Grady starts taking Mason’s toys! We are at that stage right now and while Nat deals with it pretty well, they are acting more like siblings then ever! But there are always lots of kisses and hugs in our house and I think my kiddos will always have a special bond. So glad your boys get along so well and I suspect they will always have a special bond too. Your boys are beautiful as always.

  2. Elisabeth says:

    I just read these verses in Exodus this morning before I read your post!

    I love seeing Mason loving and helping his younger brother. And, I too pray that as Aaron was to Moses, so our older sons will be to our younger sons.

  3. Jan says:

    I have 3 boys (19, 15 & 10) my youngest is my special one. His oldest brother has already laid out a plan in which he will “help” oversee Caleb. Does he feel a burden….no….responsiblity….probably. We’re family and that’s what a family does. We help and look out for each other. I worry about Caleb but I know that God has a plan. I can trust.

  4. Melissa says:

    I love the pics of your boys together! It really makes me wish Claire had a sibling…but the thought of 2 kids, when I can hardly keep up with her, makes me a little nervous.

Leave a Reply

