Carolina Callin’ me Home


I’m sorry I didn’t do this earlier, but Happy New Year my friends!  Time is escaping me these days! We are headed out bright and early to North Carolina for a mini-vacation for a week.

There are two places in my 26 years of life that have stolen my heart, the house I was born in (about 20 minutes away from where I currently reside) and North Carolina. North Carolina is my happy place when things are going rough. I lived in my own glory for a few years as an athlete at NC State, It was the place where I fell in love with Paul, It was the people, the beaches, the food…and there is something to be said about the kindness that is found in people of the Bible Belt. A trip to the grocery store was always enjoyable, the yes maam’s and bright eyes. It was the place where I found Jesus, and the place where I made enough mistakes to be on the path to who I am today. I made everlasting friendships and memories that are safely stored away for safe keeps. Mason is a Carolina born child and we always tell him all about it. I have a cousin who lives there who is like a sister to me, we were pregnant at the same time three years ago, Like Mary and Elizabeth in the bible. She is my Liz and I am her Mary. (total cheese I know) We rock.  We are going to stay with her and her family and make a few other stops as time allows.

We moved back for many reasons, and although I miss Carolina like crazy …God brought us up here for a reason and purpose. I try to hold tight to the reason and purpose when I visit. When the sweet carolina air starts calling me home…… So when we are able, I sneak a trip in here and there. It’s been 1.5 years since I’ve been, and I can’t wait! … Bo Berry Buscuits and Chic-fil-a are calling my name!

On a side note: I need this break away with Paul and the boys. Paul and I could use a road trip to talk and connect, sing and laugh. I haven’t been in the Word as much as I usually am ( I can totally tell), life has been pretty crazy around here and I am so burnt out.  I am hoping that I can just disconnect and dig back into the good stuff in life and make time for my prayer life and God.

A really exciting part of our trip is that we have a playdate set up with Mr. Carter who happens to also have Down Syndrome. I found his mommy Kristin’s Blog (<— check it out) a while back and loved it. I totally connected to her story and couldn’t help but fall head over heals for her baby boy.

They live about 20 minutes from my cousin’s house, so we are going to meet up this Friday! Carter is 8 months and looks a lot like Grady! I can’t wait to get to know Kristin and Carter better IRL and snap a few pictures of the whole get together!

 

 

 

 

 

 

This Photo below was taken my senior year in college at UNCW… when we got our dog Franz Pinkelwurst… we lived about ten minutes from Topsail Island, and after classes were done for the day, Paul and I loved to take him for a run on the beach. Happy Place.

9 thoughts on “Carolina Callin’ me Home

  1. Korey & Jack says:

    I don’t want to encroach on any personal plans or anything, but I am off work on Friday and would love to meet you and Grady with Kristin and Carter. (We live in Greensboro too and Carter and Jack are BFF’s!). I adore your blog and would love to actually meet you all in person. What do you all think?

  2. Whitney Melton says:

    Of course I love this blog! I really love what you said about the grocery store, SO TRUE! There isn’t any place like NC. I keep going back and forth with the idea of moving but something keeps holding on to me…its probably the idea of leaving my nephew…HA! See you Friday with sis and Carter, I’m giddy!

  3. Erin says:

    Hey Erin!
    I’m in NC right now too! Took Ellie to the beach last weekend and then to the mountains yesterday. Now we’re resting outside of Chapel Hill. The weather has been way nice…atleast for those of us who live in the north! Have so much fun!
    Erin

  4. Annie says:

    Have a fabulous trip! The beach looks amazing right now considering how cold it’s been 🙂 Also enjoy the time with your hubs – I always love a good car ride with my man – time to talk and laugh about anything and everything!

  5. Victoria Mottesheard says:

    Erin,
    I’m a life long friend of Kristin and just wanted to take the time to say hello. I read your blog through Kristin’s post and hope that you and Kristin are able to continue to support each other as the boys grow. Your words are heart felt and personal and I wish you and your family well wishes for the new year. Grady as well as Mason are adorable. You have an art for photography, your photos are amazing. Kristin, Carter & Jeff are truly an amazing family, hopefully your friendship will continue to grow.

    Your words are touching, keep up the posts!

  6. Scott says:

    Never been to NC, but have always liked it from afar. How far?? Go west till you hit the Pacific and you’ll be close… Thank’s for coming over and visiting my blog. Left a response to you there.

Leave a Reply

