We’re Moving to Brazil! Cha Cha Cha!


Just Kidding! I hope for some I sparked your attention for just a moment. We are here in NY and not going anywhere anytime soon. I think.

It’s been heavy on my heart lately to share with everyone a few things you may have not known about Down Syndrome. I failed miserably to educate anyone on what Down Syndrome actually is and isn’t during DS Awareness month in October. I get so busy with other things on my mind that I think I forget that some of my followers might not know what’s really going down over here. Actually I know some of you don’t because you have told me. So here goes a few things I wish people knew. I didn’t know any of this before Grady, so of course I don’t expect people to be a walking talking Down Syndrome thesaurus.  I think a part of loving Grady is education and in return you are better equipped to advocate for Grady and individuals with Down Syndrome across the globe. Please share this post with your friends and family for me if you wish, their are share button’s to do so on the bottom of this post.

When talking about individuals with Down Syndrome or Grady to be exact it’s important that you can refer to him properly, this is an important form of advocating.

The facts below are taken from www.ndss.org

Below is the proper use of language for “Down syndrome”:

– Down vs. Down’s – NDSS uses the preferred spelling, Down syndrome, rather than Down’s syndrome. While Down syndrome is listed in many dictionaries with both popular spellings (with or without an apostrophe s), the preferred usage in the United States is Down syndrome. This is because an “apostrophe s” connotes ownership or possession. Down syndrome is named for the English physician John Langdon Down, who characterized the condition, but did not have it. The AP Stylebook recommends using “Down syndrome,” as well.
– People with Down syndrome should always be referred to as people first. Instead of “a Down syndrome child,” it should be “a child with Down syndrome.” Also avoid “Down’s child” and describing the condition as “Down’s,” as in, “He has Down’s.”
-Down syndrome is a condition or a syndrome, not a disease.
-People “have” Down syndrome, they do not “suffer from” it and are not “afflicted by” it.
-(personal side note: the term Mongol is a socially unacceptable term and not appropriate language to use when referring to an individual with Down Syndrome, Our Grady has been referred to this way recently, It burst my bubble completely after hearing it, It is disparaging terminology and it needs to stop now, TODAY…. also I don’t buy any excuses for this type of language, we live in the present day of 2010, let’s keep with the times!… this is part of the reason for this post.)

Down syndrome occurs when an individual has three, rather than two, copies of the 21st chromosome. This additional genetic material alters the course of development and causes the characteristics associated with Down syndrome.

• Down syndrome is the most commonly occurring chromosomal condition. One in every 691 babies is born with Down syndrome.

• There are more than 400,000 people living with Down syndrome in the United States.

• Down syndrome occurs in people of all races and economic levels.

• The incidence of births of children with Down syndrome increases with the age of the mother. But due to higher fertility rates in younger women, 80% of children with Down syndrome are born to women under 35 years of age.

It is nothing either Paul and I did personally to give Grady Down Syndrome, I wasn’t strung out or under the influence, It doesn’t run in the family nor is it part of our personal genetic makeup, it happened at the time of conception…. Here is the kicker…it can happen to anyone’s mr. sperm or mrs. egg when they are doing the cha cha cha! Now, to me that’s a wonderful and blessed tango, and I hope by reading my blog somewhere you would think so too!

*******Thank you for taking the time to read this, if you have any questions about Grady, Down Syndrome  please PLEASE PLEASE,  ASK …in the comment section! If you are a first timer reading my blog, ask anything, if you come here often but never say hello, please do and ASK! No questions is off limits, we are open to them all!   you can also email me at ardler2002@hotmail.com if you would like to keep your questions private. Thank you again. *************

Love,

The Ski’s!

9 thoughts on “We’re Moving to Brazil! Cha Cha Cha!

  1. aprilnarretto says:

    no, what got my attention is your comment to me,lol so now I’ll be waiting for you to arrive the those two precious boys, ther is lots to do here 🙂 we were just watching the Today show and saw some horrible pictures of people stuck fordays in the snow with no snow plows around…hope that isnt you all but have a safe time and wonderful new year

  2. jodi says:

    That was mean.. I think my heart stopped beating for a sec…. love those pics of Grady. I didn’t think it was even possible but that guy just keeps getting cuter by the second..

  3. Christine says:

    My question is why do we always have to use labels? How about just a precious and beautiful child- a gift from God? Those pictures took my breath away Erin. It is so obvious that Grady is a happy and loved boy with a very talented mommy!! I WILL continue to spread the GRADY LOVE!!!! My last question is when can I hug and love on those cuties again? Hope to see all of you soon!!

  4. Lynne Mckenzie says:

    Grady is such a beautiful child. He looks like he gets lots of hugs too 🙂 I have a child with a rare chromosome abnormality and there is no rhyme nor reason for it, it just is. Like you, I didn’t know anything about disability or chromosomes until I had Jack. He is truly a pure soul and adored by all who meet him.

  5. Alessandra (Alex) says:

    Love the Blog….He’s such a handsome little boy!! I still think you should go to Brazil..it’s an awesome place..and the weather there now is great…..lots of sun!! LOl Happy New Year!! God Bless your family! Alex

  6. Carolyn says:

    Love this! Hope you are able to continue educating and advocating through this blog. You’re an excellent mum. His sweetness comes right through the pics.
    Carolyn
    Spokane, WA

  7. Beth says:

    I have been reading your blog for months and I LOVE seeing the beautiful pictures of your family!!! I just happened across your blog one day when I was pregnant and searching for information. You are and amazing mom and Grady is so beautiful. Your love for him and your family brings tears to my eyes. I wish I could take as beautiful pictures of my daughter as you do of both your boys.

Leave a Reply

