Rainbow Baby…ROYGBIV(L)


Did you know that Grady is considered a Rainbow Baby. Now, I’m not one for cheesy slogans or sayings, but this one works for me.

A Rainbow baby is a child conceived after a storm.

On December 26th 2008, I was 5 weeks pregnant and on that day  He who gives also took away. I folded the big brother shirt back into the drawer and moved forward, not easliy but the motions of motherhood to a 1 year old didn’t leave me any choice. I didn’t want to hear how common miscarriage was, it wasn’t common to me.  I only knew for one week that I was carrying, but in that one week I had hopes, plans and dreams.  This experience knocked me off my invincible baby making horse. I was not in control.

On May 16th 2009, I was 12-13 weeks pregnant and on that God Ordained day, He who gives also took away. (again)  That was one of the worst days of my life as we hurried out of a Wedding reception while trying not leave a trail. I grieved differently this time, I wanted to stay in bed forever, I was heartbroken, confused and in the midst of a storm. No-one seemed to understand even when I was  reminded of the angels I would know have waiting on me upstairs..I felt empty. The plan He had for me was like a deep haze lingering over my every glance and every movement.  What was next…

I captured this two weeks ago, It amazed me to see the rain falling down in the middle of the bluest sky. As always I am in awe at God's handy work.

If your a math whiz or some horoscopic calendar nerd, it doesn’t take long to figure out we conceived our Grady very soon after. Very soon, inconceivably conceivably soon.

Rainbow Baby.

Do you know the biblical purpose behind the rainbow?…..it’s beautiful. of course.

Genesis 9:12-17 (New International Version)

And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come:  I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds,  I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”

So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.”

_____

God starting working in overtime, he put a few extra hours in the night we conceived Grady, because he threw in the Love Chromosome at the end of our Rainbow. Not only giving us a rainbow baby, but a baby sporting that much more Love.

ROYGBIV + Love

The pain is gone. Delivered.

8 thoughts on “Rainbow Baby…ROYGBIV(L)

  1. Erin says:

    I love this picture of Grady, he is such a beautiful child. Such a tender, personal post. So sorry for your losses and happy that such a special little person was put into your life.

  2. Felicia says:

    I love this picture of Grady!!! HE is so adorable. And thank you for teaching me today. I never knew what it meant when I saw Rainbow Baby…now I know, and not my heart goes out to you. You are truly a strong and beautiful woman Erin, and I am so happy to have you in my life.

  3. Brenda says:

    Hey you! I don’t always comment but I do read faithfully:) Love this one, you are so real…love the rain cloud…love the Grady picture…you reminded me of our wedding text which was from this portion too. It was about the covenant we were making to each other…thanks for the reminder..ttys

Leave a Reply

