Potter’s Hands



“Making the decision to have a child is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.”-es


No one ever shared this insight with me before I had children and just how bittersweet this journey is. How incredibly joyous it is but in same moment incredibly challenging, new, spontaneous, monotonous, sporadic and heart wrenching.  Perfected Chaos that finds its ebb and flow in life by love alone.

I have been praying about being a mother, being a better mother…

….Shape me O’ lord into the mother you know I can be,  by faith I follow you and with praise and thanksgiving for my beautiful sons  I come before you again.  You constantly remind me that I am a work in progress but I am assured of your abilities as you promised the people of Israel in Jeremiah 18:1-6, that you will make a work of me, shape me into the way you best see fit. It was with your Potter’s hands that so meticulously crafted every one of Grady’s chromosomes into his blessed genetic makeup and it was your hands that formed Mason’s deep blue eyes and ever so loving demeanor. I am safe in your hands and you remind me of that through my children. Thank  you.

Jeremiah 18: 1-6


A mother’s love for her child is like nothing else in the world. It knows no law, no pity, it dares all things and crushes down remorselessly all that stands in its path.

~ Agatha Christie

5 thoughts on “Potter’s Hands

  1. Aunt Jess says:

    These pictures are AMAZING and I think they certainly deserve some wall space 🙂 You are an excellent mother and I admire you for it! Your boys are very lucky!

  2. P says:

    Sweet, well said! Praying that all moms everywhere find this post. I’m putting that Agatha Christie post as my status and on my quote note and profile list of quotes.

    But I adore that first sentence of adjectives too. Such a wise old soul you are, Go Go Go!!

  3. kate says:

    Riddle me this, Erin. Mason has called you “Mom.” Grady will call you “Mom.” But did you ever think I would call you “Mom?” Cause I did. This morning. Cracked up thinking about that after I hung up today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

