Lost & Found : GodWink (again)


Not only a few days after my last post that plummeted to the bottom of emotional desperation…enter stage right> GOD. Yes the one who is always listening, and who once again chose to show up.

Are you reading my posts up there GOD? Because this time, you have brought me to my knees.  “Truly you are ….”

We took an unexpected quick turn down a road in our town, a road we never go down, a shortcut of sorts. We were on our way to deliver banana bread to family when we stumbled upon a house that was getting ready for a yard sale and they had TONS of kids stuff. I mentioned to Paul I might drop by the following day as I haven’t been to a Garage Sale in atleast 10+ years.

Fast-forward, the next morning on the way home from swimming lessons at the Y, kids fast asleep in the backseat I returned to that side road just a few short miles from my house. I drifted in and out of old strollers and walkers and stumbled upon a table filled with  a mountain of developmental toys.

I placed my hand on a toy that I have been searching for and lifted my head in excitement to turn and BAM, there sits a young boy who has Down Syndrome. IN MY TOWN. My Town that I have never met another person with Down Syndrome before. All the while curiously glancing at the little boy, I express my excitement about this toy to the woman standing by me. She asked if I was an educator, I responded “No, my son has Down Syndrome and this is considered a developmental toy”…She says, “my son has Down Syndrome, he’s sitting right there”

Ok, this is where the Heavens open up, cheesy angels start singing and I start praising. I have goosebumps. Just after I blogged about how Grady Gossip has me LOST in this small town, the post that sparked debate among family, friends and my husband that left me feeling empty. The last post that I was crying out my feelings (feelings that cannot be right or wrong, they just are MY feelings) to my blog…. well God didn’t spend anytime on me telling me, justifying, scolding, debating,fixing….. God FOUND me at the yard sale.  He knew how to reach me, He FOUND me. Lost & Found.

I had a lovely conversation with his mom, dad and the 5 year old little boy. A beautiful family in my Town. They met Grady and Grady met their son. God is Good.

I couldn’t make this up if I tried. I don’t think you can argue the evident entrance of God into my life with impeccable timing. Was it that I wasn’t listening before Grady?…Coincidence, I don’t think so….or is that God so knows my current state that he is spreading his love and comfort to me through these GODWINK’s.  God is real, he is true, he is BIG, and he loves me.

It brings me to this scripture.  I, just like Peter became afraid when the wind of the world started coming my way, I cried out with doubt as If I was alone…God took my hand and gave me a WINK.

Jesus Walked on Water.

Matthew 14: 29

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

31Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

32And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. 33Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God”


10 thoughts on “Lost & Found : GodWink (again)

  1. Lara says:

    aren’t those “God-winks” amazing? When we first found out about Parker my Mom and I would stroll him at the mall to pass time. I swear everyday I saw kids, babies, and older kids with DS. I was always amazed as NEVER in my “big” town did I encounter folks with DS! I look back now and know God was comforting me as he is you, saying, “you are not alone!” That picture is ADORABLE, makes me want to kiss his precious hands! Blessings!

  2. aprilnarretto says:

    oh erin, I have goose bumps. God is so good. I am so glad that you found another family with a child who has ds. I hope you all plan on meeting again,she may be agreat window into your future, plus it never hurts to make new friends. Thanks for sharing this beautiful story
    April

  3. Adrienne says:

    That’s so awesome Erin! God is so good! Just when you think you can’t go one step more, he’s there to pick you up and show you that you can. So glad you had yet another encounter with someone just like Grady!

  4. Adina Lund says:

    That was a great post. Sometimes amazing things happen that cannot be explained any other way. You are blessed in so many ways.

  5. Nana Jo says:

    I lurk on your blog now & then & have never posted, and this morning I’m catching up on my blog-reading. (I have a precious 7-mo granddaughter who has Ds.) Anyway, I was so touched by this entry from earlier this mo.–and the beautiful way you related it!!

    Yes–Jesus still walks on water . . .

Leave a Reply

