Please don’t say…”I’m Sorry”


For a time now I have been bracing myself for someone to say something that would rock my maternal soul. Today was that day. This is part of our journey with Down Syndrome and part of our story but it will not Define it. I’m feeling a breakdown tonight because I am reminded that my bubble has burst and there is no safe zone outside these four walls. God remains to carry me and be the solid ground when the world begins to shake, he becomes my safe zone. The world in general is uneducated about Down Syndrome and as humans we are flawed and fall short of Grace this I understand. But in the midst of excuses made, a child is a child, a baby is a baby …extra chromosomes or not in no same sentence is their room for the word sorry and baby.

Dear World…

My son has down syndrome. Please do not say… “I’m sorry”. I understand your intial reaction was not thought out or the news took you by suprise, but he is Life sent from God, please do not say… “I’m sorry”. He was packaged by God just like you and I and is no different in his eyes, so please dont say … “I’m sorry”. We are not sorry.  Do we look sad or sorrowful? read my smile, see my motherly glow, look at his tiny hands and feet enclosed in my cradle, his pink cheeks and milk glazed face… We are not sorry.

My son has down syndrome. Please do not say… “I’m sorry.”

Thank you,

Erin Ski.

Paul captured this today, I think it is a beautiful picture. It is my boys and my life. Real.

If you are reading this please share this knowledge with others, you will help to spread and advocate for new moms everywhere.

“I’m sorry’s” are better saved for funerals, after you have tripped someone by accident or being late for an appointment.

Advocate for Grady.

1 Samuel 16:7

“The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

10 thoughts on “Please don’t say…”I’m Sorry”

  1. Courtney B says:

    You and your family are gorgeous. I hope to meet your boys one day soon. Paul did a great job capturing a special moment. xoxo

  2. Sheena says:

    What a blessing! I always come away with such amazement! Thank you for continuing to shine your light ever so brightly, Being a Advocate for your sweet babies, standing proud to live for our savior and being real when it comes to such dear things! I really feel blessed to “know” you!! I wish that we lived closer so that we could have playdates and I could be encouraged daily as well as encourage you in our Lord!!

  3. Erin says:

    I got this a lot when Lucas was first born, even from doctors. Today I don’t even allow anyone to get it out of their mouth. I just continue on after I say he has DS and talk about how wonderful he is and people usually forget to say, “I’m sorry.”

    Great post.

  4. Melissa says:

    I love the picture of you and your boys! I think this is one of the best ways to advocate for our kids. To show poeple that our lives now are no different then they were before. God had given us our babies exactly as they are, and they are wonderfully made!

  5. Heidi says:

    When I was told “I’m sorry,” when someone initially found out that Wes has Down Syndrome I replied, “When someone dies you say ‘I’m sorry,’ and when someone has a baby you say, ‘congratulations.’ Of course, I would say it as nicely as I could.

  6. Kayla says:

    You took the words right out of my mouth…”Don’t say I’m sorry.” When people tell me that, I know they mean well…but it still bugs me. I often reply with, “Don’t be, I’m certainly not.”

    Grady is perfect. He’s exactly what God meant for you to have…and what a blessing!

Leave a Reply

