Grady has arrived! Blessings & A quick Update


Grady Wayne in all his Glory. An Incredible Blessing of God's Design.

6lbs 150z.

20.5 Inches

Delivered 2/20/10

12:26 am

VBAC

T21

8/9 Apgar

He is so healthy, no signs of heart murmurs, pooping and eating like a champ. He latched on and is taking the breast-feeding wonderfully. He is alert and active. Already making me proud. Amen.

I am currently on bed rest due to a spinal leak from the epidural. I had to stay in the hospital three extra days on top of the regular stay because of a Chronic Headache that came from the epidural puncture, they tried a spinal blood patch (usually 99% effective) and that didn’t work (I am kinda done with percentages and odds, they just don’t fit me well), so the only thing that has treated it is excessive caffeine intake and water and lying in the lumbar position. So I am currently only getting up to feed and well update this real quick!!

I can’t begin to tell you what an experience it was to meet Grady Wayne.  I can’t wait to share with you all …the story, the experience, the Love that has poured out over his life already. It truly is amazing. Within the first moments of Grady’s Life he touched our Labor and Delivery Nurse’s Life (Jodi (( read her post below that she sent me while I was still in the hospital, she was amazing, and that is the first understatement, she was one part of my birth story that will forever stay with me)) )….it was God’s first sign of his Promise to me through this Journey, that He would lead My family and I and others in one way or another closer to him through this experience. Grady has touched so many lives already, God is Good. God always keeps: PROMISE.

Erin & Paul
So many things to say and I just met the both of you 1 and a half days ago. I am a strong believer in “everything happens for a reason”. I was meant to be your nurse on Friday night. It is hard to believe that with all my years of experience as a nurse/midwife that I have never had a patient that was pregnant with a baby that had trisomy 21. So when I received my assignment on Friday night it only made since when I felt the sudden knot in my stomach. That feeling mad even stronger with the fact that I have a new perfectly healthy baby boy at home. So I took a deep breath, sucked it up and went and introduced myself. Not even 2 minutes after meeting the both of you that knot was gone and in its place was a feeling of warmth and calmness. I knew Grady was right where he was supposed to be…………….I could go into such details about the delivery….I’ll leave that up to…You were amazing…..It was touching….It brought me such joy to see how empowered you were the moment that it hit you that you pushed Grady out…..All by yourself!!!!!!! No C-section……No vaccum! Grady is precious. I will never forget him. He has definately touched my life forever. I will keep an ear out if I am ever passing through Wisconsin…..I hear the turkey hunting is really good in those parts……. Hey the ski is the limit. God Bless Jodi

(Thank you allowing me to share that Jodi)

More pictures to come soon 🙂

15 thoughts on “Grady has arrived! Blessings & A quick Update

  1. Emy says:

    Congratulations, Erin, Paul and Mason!!! I am so happy for all of you. Reading this post made me feel like one of my children just had a baby. All of our prayers have been answered. Grady looks absolutely beautiful. I’m so glad he’s taken to nursing so well, that he is healthy and that all things are going well.

    I am sorry that you had the experience with the epidural. My prayers are now centered around a quick recovery for you so that you can enjoy your sons and husband to the fullest.

    God bless you all. I have so many people to call to tell them of this wonderful wonderful news. Just told my husband who sends his very best wishes to you. He was almost as excited as me to hear that Grady is doing so well. We, especially he, recalls our Patti and the problems she had feeding. That’s why I’m so glad things are as you say. Marvelous!!!

    Now, my prayer chain will focus their prayers on your recovery and the continued good blessings of Our Lord on all of you as you begin your fantastic journey as a family of four.

    I pray that God fills you with peace, joy and love beyond measure as I’m sure He is doing at this moment.

    With excitement and joy,
    Emy

  2. Pat says:

    Your message is such awesome news. Grady is just beautiful. I can’t wait to meet him. A perfect little boy that has an awesome family.

    Erin, I know from experience how horrible the headache is! I had a spinal fluid leak 2 yrs ago afer spinal surgery. It is so painful — it’s dibilitating! Please rest and take good care of yourself.

    We will be continuing our prayers for all of you. Rest well and get on your feet. We’re anxious to see your precious family at church!

    Lots and lots of love to all of you.

  3. Sheena says:

    Congrats on your sweet little bundle of Joy! What a sweet savior we serve to have blessed your family in such a way! our Hunter is our sweet gift from God. Not because he has T21 but because The Lord CHOSE us to be his parents, to open my womb to have him and to be a godly example to him! I pray that I make the Lord proud and live out my life as a Godly example for Hunter! I want my son to be strong in the Lord and proclaim his name to all he meets.

  4. Tabitha says:

    Erin, A big congrats. He is perfect. I am happy that he is healthy. Try to get plenty of rest, but since I know what it is like to have a two year old as well in the house that might make rest impossible. Look forward to seeing more pictures of of your two perfect boys.

    Our new boy cooper is perfect. He is now almost 3 weeks old and the best peace of advise from my pediatrician was he is your baby first and the ds diagnosis is second. To just enjoy your baby and not worry too much.

    Best of Luck!!!

    -Tabitha

  5. Tana says:

    Congratulations, Erin, Paul and Mason! Grady is perfect!!! Even though he has already brought so much into your lives, he will bring more love, joy and pride into your hearts than you can even yet imagine! God is soooooo good! 🙂

    You all are in my prayers and heart forever!
    Tana

  6. Cathy says:

    Erin and Paul and Mason

    Oh my God!! What a beautiful little boy he is. You are so lucky to have Grady in your lives. I just feel what a joy and a true blessing he is going to be. He is a special little boy and he was given to two very special parents and one special big brother. Good luck to all of you. He is a special angel.

  7. Melissa says:

    Congrats! I’m terribly behind on my blog reading and think I congratulated you on baby center, but just in case I missed it, I wanted to tell you again. I’m so glad to hear that your delivery went smoothly, except for the epidural headache. Your nurse sounds wonderful too!

Leave a Reply

