3D sneak peak:38 Weeks: Pineapples & Fortune Cookies


Week 38: Still 100% effaced, still at 1…. still pregnant.

Today was our weekly appt. so we went to see my Dr.  (not so much the fortune teller Dr. anymore but more of an optimist, I have now concluded). She still claims it can be any day, so with a grain of salt, I giggle allowing my belly to jiggle just a bit, and somewhat sarcastically let her know that we would see her next week. I hate the waiting game, but I am patient, so we wait. I am all about the suddle nudges that are supposed to bring on labor, so I ate a pineapple the other night and to my surprise the whole night my back hurt, so I thought, hmmm could this be back labor?  Nope, just a back ache! Pineapple you have failed me and the only joy you brought me was that I smelled like fruity sun tan lotion when my indigestion woke me up in the middle of the night. Tonight, I ate chinese food, another wives tail, and to my surprise they gave us way too many fortune cookies for just the two of us. Does this mean we ordered enough food for six? so I opened all the cookies and read the fortunes, not one said : “be easy for tonight the baby comes before the big snow storm tomorrow”…. No fortune cookie you have also failed me,  instead I have better insights into climbing mountains and measuring self worth….Stair climbing and squats are out of the question, the trusty cadaver in my knee will not hear of it…. I will not even get started with the Doctor recommended nudge….tmi.

My doctor is on call tomorrow night, the same wonderful night that is calling for a 12 inch snow storm to bury us. Paul reassures me that his big F250 with Huge Tires will easily navigate its way to the hospital in no time (an already hour drive).  His truck is so bumpy that all it would take is one pot hole and the baby is sure to fall out. Good and Dear Lord. Please.

But in the mean time our wonderful Regular u/s technician stuck her magic  3d/4d wand on the ole Grady belly after our Biophysical Profile  Ultrasound today.  I was ready this time, oh so ready to see him. It was actually just what I needed before he was born to settle my nerves and dash a little water on the intense emotional heat I feel in these most recent days.  Here he is. He looked perfect and although he really wouldn’t move his hands away from his face, I got just enough of him to make me melt. We all think he looks like Paul.

His little hands and finger pointing up. "no mommy not today!" -

See you soon Grady!

sweet little pudge
9 thoughts on “3D sneak peak:38 Weeks: Pineapples & Fortune Cookies

  1. Tara says:

    Peanut butter cups, baby! Those are guaranteed to bring on labor (or at least bring you joy while you try. 🙂 Grady is sooo cute! Can’t wait to “meet” him!

  2. Miriam Kauk says:

    Erin, I’m enjoying reading your thoughts as you prepare to meet Grady. Soon… soon.

    I especially enjoyed reading what you wrote about Moses and Exodus 4. I love that section of scripture. Seventeen years ago God showed me that passage on the day my daughter was born. I wrote about it here.

  3. skiingthroughlife says:

    Tara- I love Peanut Butter Cups! Should I go with Reese’s? I really may try this, hahhaha…. but given the snow storm tonight I may hold off!

    Miriam- thank you for finding me, I love your blog and your Christian perspective, it is so exciting. I am bookmarking you!! Thank you!

  4. Carrie says:

    You are so close! I can’t wait to meet your new little one!

    As far as bringing on labor–I don’t think anything really works–I tried all the usual (walking, eating, etc) and even moving across the country, some tmi, and tornados. Nothing worked! I’m convinced they just have their own timetable and will come whenever they want too!

  5. Brenda says:

    You are sooo adorable! As is Grady. Sweet boy. Here I am wishing for the snow storm and YOU are ready to have Mr. Grady any day. I have a feeling that the snow is coming so I hope he stays put just a little bit longer. This is way you should have babies in aug/sept!!!!! Just kidding. I really hope you don’t have to drive an hour in a storm. Hope everything goes well!!!

  6. Leah says:

    So here it is, the 11th. Since there are no updates from you, I’m assuming you’re now holding Grady in your arms! Your email from yesterday just came through to me today, so I’m a day behind in checking in on you! I pray that all is well.

    • skiingthroughlife says:

      Not Yet! I am waiting oh oh oh so patiently. Contractions are getting so strong and I have been able to time them the last two nights, Im going for Valentines day now!! Will post next, when we leave for hospital 🙂 whenever that my be.

Leave a Reply

