A Different Thanksgiving: Turkey, Stuffing & Abortion Issues



Seeing little Mason dressed up as a turkey, sticking him in a pot and laughing all the while, was so wonderful. I just love my little boy so much. He is such a joy, and he is turning 2 next week. Gosh time sure does fly by. I have really been enjoying every little thing about him these past few weeks, knowing I wont have as much time to dedicate to him makes me sad, but knowing his life will be so enriched with a little brother makes it worth while.

Thanksgiving was different this year, for a few reasons.. First,  I am so at peace with so many things for the first time in a long time. My marriage is something to be thankful for. We have had a terribly rough and challenging  year, and God has kept his promise to me and let the light back in on our love. I feel so strong when I am next to Paul.  I am of course pregnant, and no matter the circumstance, an extra chromosome and all I have a jolly big belly and feel so blessed to be having Grady in a few months. Third Tri-mester started today. Finally, I am really beginning to work on forgiveness and acceptance in my life, as I open up to situations that I was once closed to. I am so willing and ready to give the benefit of the doubt… through and only through forgiveness.

My Opinion: or my Truth is of a wonderful message, it offers redemption because God is forgiving, It also is of conviction and righteousness, and is anointed in his promise to all his people: You can come to Jesus and seek him with all your heart and he will offer hope, he will listen. I listened to him  and have held on to his truth for my future as Grady’s Mom.

As seen in Jeremiah 29: 11-14

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.  I will be found by you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

Her Opinion: as I see it: a dead end road, a selfish road, a road seperate from the words written in the Bible, and/or murder.

I like to think I am an open and understanding person, I learned a lot about myself through the years. It started when I was a Northern Yankee in a Southern State University, I started to open my eyes to differing opinions and ways of life. I became a Christian my sophomore year and opened my heart to different races and people in a way never experienced before. I respected friends who where not like me, I loved people who didn’t share the same values as me, I listened to so many people as the debated politics, religion and morals. I loved to give my opinion but never was so fired up to really shake the ground under me as the day someone else’s opionion was about the Child Made with Love, hand picked by Jesus for me, woven in my womb, cradled in his image that hasn’t even seen the light of day yet, my grandmother’s opinion.

I feel like I am on a Anti-Abortion Kick these days, reading what the Bible has to say, what God has to say, and listening to my heart.  I have forgiven my Grandmother for her views, be it a generational gap, a lack of faith, or whatever it may be perhaps beyond my own understanding. I forgive her. I pray for her, I give it to God with all my heart. I was open to her presence at Thanksgiving. She did not come.  I believe life is of Free Will and choices, and I respect yours, and hers. I also strongly believe I will speak mine when it is necessary , and in the right mindset I will never cease to speak of the blessing that is Grady. Maybe Grady will be God’s Gift to open her heart. That is out of my hands and in HIS.

I am Thankful for God’s Promise, and his gift to our family this upcoming year. I was inspired by this photo found online.

21 Week Old Baby in Uterus:Undergoing Surgery reaches out to Hold onto Finger of Surgeon..

6 thoughts on “A Different Thanksgiving: Turkey, Stuffing & Abortion Issues

  1. adrienne says:

    WOW! What an interesting situation you have here. I only have one grandmother (my husband’s) that is living and I have no idea what her thought’s are on Bennett. But she will meet him in just a couple of weeks. I really think when your grandmother does meet Grady her heart is going to change. Grady has a purpose, there is no doubt about it. I’m telling you, there is something different (other than that extra chromosome) about babies with Down syndrome. I don’t care if that sounds like a cliche either. There is something just so special about my Bennett and I can’t get enough of him. It’s like they pull you in and there’s this innocence that I feel even other babies don’t have. I can’t explain it but you will see.

    I love this post and you are obviously a strong Christian, which I admire. You are so doing the right thing here by keeping this baby and I’m sure like me, you don’t see any other option. Your grandmother will be changed from the baby that is inside you, I just know it. ‘

    I also love that verse in Jeremiah, it gave me so much strength when I was having those bad days. And let me tell you, I’ve only had one bad day after my son’s birth and it was really just a moment right after my Bennett was born-you know just reality setting it really, but every day is just so wonderful with him. I can’t wait for you to meet Grady!

  2. Courtney says:

    Erin,
    I haven’t even read the first sentence in your entry, but I had to comment on that picture of mason-that is ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE!!!! Seriously, wow, so cute!!!

    love you!!
    xo.
    Court

  3. Carrie says:

    I totally agree with Adrienne! There is SOMEthing about my Miss B that is just fabulous…holding her and taking care of her calms me and gives me a sense of peace that I have never experienced before. Not that my other two children didn’t help me feel closer to God, but with Miss B, it’s just…soothing and faith-increasing in a different way. (If that makes sense!)

    I’m sorry to hear about your Grandma’s opinion–some people don’t understand until they have been there. I think you and Grady will be great teachers for her.

  4. Cindie says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your family conflict. When I was pregnant I had a MAN at my work telling me to abort because my child would suffer and have a horrible life, etc.etc.etc…. Finally I told him in a not so nice way to hush and that I was keeping my BABY.

    he was older (50’s or so but still!)

    my mother in law, wasn’t too happy about us even having a baby and was very distant at first. now TJ is the love of her life, and anytime she sees him she’s always talking to him and giving him attention. this is a woman who once told me she HATED babies because they cry. I’ve seen god change her heart step by step and I believe that when your grandmother see’s baby Grady, she’s gonna change too.

    Cindie

Leave a Reply

