The Opposition is: Ignorance


sc034021f4Never before in my life have I ever had such a strong sense of need to protect something or someone. To hear that their where whispers at a family get together that our son was going to have down syndrome before reaching out to me, or to hear that this child will be a burden, or to hear that someone will always feel bad for him, and most shockingly to possibly have an assumption of christian ignorance project that this is a form of punishment from God because of an unsettled spiritual debt turns my heart to prayer for those less fortuante, those who suffer from the biggest disability of all: Ignorance.

I quickly get enraged, a mother’s heart pounds so hard when the devil attacks in various ways. So what can I do? Arm myself with love and knowledge. I am beginning to arm myself with scripture and the promise of God’s word.  When I first decided to become a christian while in college I used to read this scripture a lot…I am reading it a lot today.

Ephesians 6: 11-18 
11 Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. 13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. 14 Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; 15 And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16 Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spiritwhich is the word of God: 18 Praying always with all prayerand supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

Initially we felt like slowly sharing the information one person at at time would help prepare the friends/family that Grady was going to be different, It would give the them time to educate themselves, and begin to love on him. All the while, we hope that the birth of this child will bring as much joy as Mason did. Putting aside our hopes in others, I know he will light up our world from the moment we see him. I am a woman of great expectations and always have, it may be a default of mine because the human condition of sin will always lead to let downs. So I have a heavy heart today for those less fortunate and all I can do is pray for their ignorance.

Update :

Echo Cardiogram was yesterday along with a level 2 Ultrasound! Great news is that Grady’s little heart looks great and their were no signs of malformation within his structure. His shining star still shone bright over his heart but poses no threat to the functionality. He is growing right on schedule and looked wonderful. To get me through the whole 3 + hours laying their on the ultrasound table, I spent moments in meditation trying not to let my nerves and worry overcome me. I kept receiving the vision of the Lord’s Robe Cradling my Child. (Isaiah 6:1  In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple.)  The Pastor at our church a few weeks back preached Isaiah 6 to us, and the picture he painted for me re- appeared in the form of comfort for Grady. I felt like God had his hand on my child and the warmth came over me. God is good.

Leave a Reply

